Translate

2017년 2월 12일 일요일

태양계 이야기 595 - 주노가 본 목성



(This enhanced-color image of Jupiter’s south pole and its swirling atmosphere was created by citizen scientist Roman Tkachenko using data from the JunoCam imager on NASA’s Juno spacecraft. Juno acquired the image, looking directly at the Jovian south pole, on February 2, 2017, at 6:06 a.m. PST (9:06 a.m. EST) from an altitude of about 63,400 miles (102,100 kilometers) above Jupiter's cloud tops. Cyclones swirl around the south pole, and white oval storms can be seen near the limb -- the apparent edge of the planet. Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Roman Tkachenko) 


 앞서 소개드린 것과 같이 목성 탐사선 주노는 성공적으로 목성 궤도에 진입한 후 타원 궤도를 조정하면서 관측을 시작한 상태입니다. 





 이전 탐사선과 달리 극궤도를 돌기 때문에 이전에는 보지 못했던 목성을 모습을 관측할 수 있다는 점이 가장 기대되는 점이기도 하죠. 그리고 실제로 이전에 볼 수 없었던 이미지들이 전송되고 있습니다. 오늘 소개하는 사진 역시 마찬가지 입니다. 


 위의 이미지는 목성의 남극을 근접 촬영한 것으로 2017년 2월 2일 목성에서 10만 2100km 떨어진 지점에서 촬영된 것입니다. 목성의 고위도 지역에는 우리에게 친숙한 줄무늬 구름보다 소용돌이 구름을 더 쉽게 관측할 수 있는데, 사진에서 뚜렷하게 보이는 이유는 사실 컬러 강조 덕분입니다. 이 사진은 보는 각도에 따라서 목성의 모습이 상당히 다르다는 점을 보여줍니다. 


(The JunoCam imager on NASA’s Juno spacecraft snapped this shot of Jupiter’s northern latitudes on Dec. 11, 2016 at 8:47 a.m. PST (11:47 a.m. EST), as the spacecraft performed a close flyby of the gas giant planet. The spacecraft was at an altitude of 10,300 miles (16,600 kilometers) above Jupiter’s cloud tops. Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Gerald Eichstaedt/John Rogers) 


 위의 사진은 이보다 전인 2016년 12월 11일에 목성의 북극지방을 16,600km 떨어진 곳에서 찍은 사진입니다. 이 사진에서는 목성에서 세 번째로 큰 폭풍인 소적점 Little Red Spot 의 모습이 왼쪽 아래에 나타나 있습니다. 


(This image of a crescent Jupiter and the iconic Great Red Spot was created by a citizen scientist (Roman Tkachenko) using data from Juno's JunoCam instrument. You can also see a series of storms shaped like white ovals, known informally as the ‘string of pearls.’ Below the Great Red Spot a reddish long-lived storm known as Oval BA is visible. The image was taken on Dec. 11, 2016 at 2:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. EST), as the Juno spacecraft performed its third close flyby of Jupiter. At the time the image was taken, the spacecraft was about 285,100 miles (458,800 kilometers) from the planet. Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Roman Tkachenko)


 마지막 사진은 역시 2016년 12월 11일 찍은 것으로 목성으로 접근하면서 더 멀리서 찍은 사진입니다. 거리는 45만 8800km 입니다. 목성의 구름이 보는 각도에서 어떻게 다른지를 잘 보여주는 사진이라고 생각됩니다. 


 주노는 앞으로 2년에 걸쳐 목성의 모습을 생생하게 보여줄 것으로 생각됩니다. 그 활약이 기대됩니다. 


 참고 


댓글 없음:

댓글 쓰기